Merit-Based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) Reference Sheets

This post was updated based on the Quality Payment Program final rule on October 20, 2016.

The Merit-Based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) is part of the new Quality Payment Program under MACRA and combines requirements previously included in three separate programs administered by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS): the Physician Quality Reporting System (PQRS), the Medicare EHR Incentive Program (Meaningful Use), and the Value-Based Payment Modifier. Although MIPS does retain some components of the current Medicare programs it is replacing, many of the requirements proposed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) are complex.

Able Health has created two reference sheets to help you and your organization better understand the core requirements of MIPS and how the program will be evaluated by CMS. The first sheet outlines the requirements of the program across the four performance categories: Quality, Cost, Advancing Care Information, and Improvement Activities. The second reference sheet outlines how your performance in each of the categories will be evaluated in order to calculate the MIPS Composite Score. You can view both of these sheets below or download and print them as a PDF here.

These reference sheets were created based on information found in the Quality Payment Program final rule that CMS released in October 2016.

Click here or on either image below to view an enlarged PDF version.

MIPS Reference Sheet - 2017 MIPS Requirements
MIPS Reference Sheet - 2017 MIPS Composite Score

Download and print these reference sheets as a PDF

Further reading:
MIPS Advancing Care Information: Frequently Asked Questions
Comprehensive Primary Care Plus (CPC+) quality measures for 2017

Email Alerts

Stay informed with Able Health email alerts

Be the first to know about key PQRS and MACRA information, deadlines, and expert analysis